Marcus Samuelsson Received the Outstanding Personality Award.

2019 James Beard Media Awards

2019 James Beard Media Awards

@marcuscooks #regram

The James Beard Foundation, the culinary industry’s most prestigious recognition program, announced the winners of the 2019 James Beard Media Awards. C-CAP’s board co-chair Marcus Samuelsson received the Outstanding Personality Award for his program “No Passport Required,” which airs on PBS.

The Media Awards honor the nation’s top food authors, broadcast producers and hosts, and journalists. Nominees and guests gathered at an exclusive celebration dinner, hosted by Emmy Award–winning television host Tyra Banks on April 26, at Pier Sixty at Chelsea Piers in New York City.

In partnership with Visit Philadelphia, the 2019 Media Awards featured some of the city’s top James Beard Foundation–affiliated culinary talent, who traveled from the City of Brotherly Love to prepare a multi-course dinner, served during the ceremony. Philadelphia chefs included Ange Branca of Saté Kampar, Diana Widjojo and Maylia Widjojo of Hardena, and Andrew Farley of High Street on Market and High Street on Hudson, owned by 2019 Outstanding Restaurateur nominee Ellen Yin.

Following the dinner and awards ceremony, guests were treated to a dessert reception with noted Philadelphia pastry chefs, including 2019 Outstanding Baker nominee Tova du Plessis of Essen, Kate Jacoby of Vedge, and Robert Toland of Terrain.

Each of the Media Awards categories is overseen by a committee of volunteer industry professionals, who determine Awards policies and procedures. The Book Award judges (48 in total) include editors, authors, journalists, and culinary educators who have not published a food book during the current Awards year.

The Broadcast Media Award judges (more than 60 in total) include producers, educators, editors, and print journalists. Journalism Award judges (more than 90 in total) include working editors, journalists, retired food and beverage editors and writers, and deans and professors of leading journalism colleges.

A complete list of James Beard Award winners may be found at

Back to News